People

 

Principle Investigator  

Mary Beth Leigh

Professor, Institute of Arctic Biology and the Department of Biology and Wildlife, University of Alaska Fairbanks

email: mbleigh@alaska.edu

Office phone: (907) 474-6656

Office location: West Ridge Research Building Room 228

Mailing address: UAF Institute of Arctic Biology, PO Box 757000, Fairbanks, AK 99775

Twitter: @marybethleigh

Skype: marybethleigh

website

 

Students

Taylor Gofstein  

Ph.D. student, Environmental Chemistry

Research topic: Biodegradation of crude oil and chemical dispersants (Corexit 9500) in Arctic seawater

tgofstein@alaska.edu

website

 

Rodney Guritz

M.A. student, Rural Development (Co-advisor: Charlene Stern)

Research topic:  Strategies and Resources for Community-Driven Environmental Restoration

rdguritz@alaska.edu

 

 

Chris Kasanke

Ph.D. student, Biological Sciences

Research topic: Biodegradation of sulfolane in a sub-Arctic aquifer

cpkasanke@alaska.edu

 

 

Alexis Walker

Ph.D. student in Marine Biology (Co-advisor Sarah Hardy)

Research topic: Microbial community structure and function of the Arctic marine benthos

amwalker8@alaska.edu

 

 

Technicians

 

Kristin Hruska

Lab Manager

kmhruska@alaska.edu

 

Ben Hedges

Lab Technician

bhedges2@alaska.edu

 

Collaborators

 

Dr. David Barnes

Professor

Institute of Northern Engineering, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Fairbanks, AK USA

 

Dr. Eric Collins

Assistant Professor

College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences,  University of Alaska Fairbanks

Fairbanks, AK USA

 

Dr. Lissy Goralnik

Assistant Professor

Michigan State University

East Lansing, MI

 

Dr. Sarah Hardy

Assistant Professor

College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences,  University of Alaska Fairbanks

Fairbanks, AK USA

 

Dr. Mary-Cathrine Leewis

Soil Microbiologist

U.S. Geological Survey

Menlo Park, CA, USA

 

Dr. Tomas Macek

Professor

University of Chemistry and Technology

Prague, Czech Republic

 

Dr. Armando McDonald

Professor

University of Idaho

Moscow, ID, USA

 

Dr. Michael P. Nelson

Professor of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy, Ruth H. Spaniol Chair of Renewable Resources

Oregon State University

Corvallis, OR, USA

 

Dr. Ursel Schuette

Research Scientist

Institute of Arctic Biology, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Fairbanks, AK, USA

 

Dr. Andres Soria

Director of the Bergland Center, Pacific University

Forest Grove, OR, USA

 

Dr. Frederick Swanson

Retired, U.S. Forest Service

Corvallis, OR, USA

 

Dr. Ondrej Uhlik

Associate Professor

University of Chemistry and Technology

Prague, Czech Republic